A Wedding Quilt

I’ve not had a the chance to make a quilt for a wedding yet.  Probably won’t until my girls get married (ack!).  It seems to me a sacred rite of passage that a mother (if she is so inclined) make, or have made, a quilt for her daughter.

Debbie Driscolls Double Wedding Ring

Debbie Driscolls Double Wedding Ring

Debbie Driscoll called me earlier this year (2009) then brought me this quilt (un-quilted, of course).

She told me that she wanted feathers in the cream areas.  I doubted myself.  I’d not done feathers on a customers quilt before.  Could I do it??

Back of the Quilt by Debbie Driscoll

Back of the Quilt by Debbie Driscoll

Not too bad!  I loved looking at the back because you can really see the quilting.

If you’re interested, I used the Continuous Line Curve for the Double Wedding Ring by Cindy Roth with Longarm University.

I was able to do the rings and most of the feathers in one continuous quilting path!  The hearts and feathers on the inside of the blocks were stitched separately from the rings.

Close up of Block

Close up of Block

When Debbie came to pick up the quilt she brought her other daughter.  Her daughter said, “I think she doesn’t deserve it.  She’s been Bridezilla.”  And Debbie said, “Who do you think she get it instead?  You?”  “Yes,” her daughter said, “I’ve been the perfect daughter!”  Everyone laughed.  A well quilted quilt is a prized possession.  One that people will look at and want to be under.  A quilt made with love is a treasure and provides years of love to the receiver.

Leave a Reply

