Shepherd’s Pie

When we were living in Australia I learned how to make Shepherd’s Pie.  There have been many variations (I’m sure).  This last one my husband asked me what I did differently and proclaimed, “That’s the best Shepherd’s Pie you’ve ever made.”  Well, I’ll be darned!  As I’m a throw-it-together-in-a-pot type of gal the measurements are not exact and you’ll get to tweak as you go along.  Have fun!!

Mashed Potatoes

4 large potatoes (regular old potatoes are fine), cubed, cooked to the point of mashing

Add some chicken broth (I prefer organic because it doesn’t have extra “stuff” in it) to make it smooth

2 or 3 cloves of garlic (or more…or less, whatever you like)

Mash together and set aside.

Meat Mixture

1 lb(ish) of hamburger (or ground turkey or chicken) cooked and drained

1 small onion diced up add to meat

4 cloves of garlic (yes, four…trust me, it’s that good)

1 ~ 14 oz can of black beans, drained and add to meat

1 ~ 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, not drained then add to meat

2 tbsp of dried thyme added to meat

2 tbsp of dried oregano added to meat

Shredded Romano sprinkled on top (optional for those of us who can’t have dairy)

Mix well and place in the bottom of a deep 9 x 13 pan.  Cover with mashed potatoes.  Bake on 350 degrees for about 30 to 40 minutes.  (I threw the kids in the car and went to pick up my husband at the bus station.)

Serve with salad and warm bread, if your heart desires.  Serves approximately 6 adults and as many children that don’t eat!

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

