Great-Grandma’s Quilts

Since I’m on the subject of Grandma…

My aunts who live close to my grandparents house (my grandpa has since re-married and the house is now on the market, I believe) starting going through all her stuff.  She was a collector of ‘things’.  There were collections of collections, china dogs, tea balls, wooden duck decoys (not that she ever went hunting…but…).

They put together two boxes and sent them to my mom.  My mom opened them up and, in the bottom of one of the boxes, was a quilt.  An old quilt.  From the 50’s or 60’s.  It is…well, I wouldn’t use the fabrics that were used and I would call it U-G-L-Y.  But, as I’ve showed others they’ve said they’ve liked it.  So here’s the quilt:

Great-Grandma's Quilt...Side 1

Great-Grandma's Quilt...Side 1

Yep…delicious use of color.  And let me tell you, this is a poor picture taken in our poorly lit living room in the middle of the night.  Do note the blue satin blanket binding.  Here’s the other side, decidedly my favorite of the two:

Great-Grandma's Quilt...Side 2

Great-Grandma's Quilt...Side 2

Anna Lena’s was having a backing fabric special of 6 yards for $19.99 so I ordered one for each of the quilts.  Again, completely wrong colors and they are 30’s reproductions but, at this point it didn’t matter.

The quilt was two tops tied together with what was once cream colored yarn.  It had been washed and a lot of the color is faded but the fabrics were still in comparatively good condition.  Little wear, no holes or rips.  It was definitely workable.

My Great-Grandma Maude made this quilt.  I have two others that she made.  Of course, during that time, quilts were purely utilitarian and not meant to be ‘pretties’ alone.  The two other quilts are beyond repair.  In my favorite quilt there are holes, so large in fact, that an adult can easily pass through them.  The second one is on my bed now and rarely gets used.  The fabrics tear easily and my darlings are not allowed near it.  I’m sure, like it’s predecessor, it will be packed away soon.

I don’t know much about my Great-Grandma except this:  She made quilts that were sent to orphanages in Mexico.

And this is where she and I are connected in history.  About 10 years ago I was with Youth With A Mission in Arvada/Denver, Colorado.  For my missions trip I decided to go to Mexico.  While in Mexico we went to an orphanage.

Most Americans think of orphanages as being places where children whose parents have died and there is no one else to take care of them go, or rather, are sent.  Not necessarily in Mexico.  As a matter of fact, most of the children in Mexican orphanages have parents or family it’s just that the parents need to work or are travelling for work and can’t take care of them.  They drop them off and then go.  Talk about working poor!

Back on topic.  I snipped the yarn ties, made the backs and put the quilts on my longarm.  Here’s the first quilt:

Great-Grandma's Quilt~Side 1 Re-quilted

Great-Grandma's Quilt~Side 1 Re-quilted

All right, here’s a few close ups.  I did Sally Terry’s Hooked on Feathers and, if I say so myself, it turned out beautifully.  (Everybody cheer!  My four-year-old took these pictures!)

Sally Terry's Hooked On Feathers

Sally Terry's Hooked On Feathers

Sally's Feathers in the blue areas.

Sally's Feathers in the blue areas.

Second quilt…I did my favorite, which I call Double Circles in turquoise thread.  A great complement for the quilt.

Great-Grandma's Quilt~Side 2 Re-quilted

Great-Grandma's Quilt~Side 2 Re-quilted

And the close-up…

Double Circles ~ One of my favorite ways to quilt

Double Circles ~ One of my favorite ways to quilt

Now my daughters will have special quilts that their Great-great-grandma made, their great-grandma saved, their grandma passed on and I quilted.  There will be strict instructions including ‘Do Not Ever Throw This Away!’

P.S. One of my aunts was going to throw this away but another one said no and used it as “packaging” for the items she sent to my mom.  :o)  A quilt can make many journeys!

6 responses to “Great-Grandma’s Quilts

  1. Very nice of you to save something for posterity. I hope they enjoy the quilts.

    • quiltingcomfort

      Knowing my beautiful girls they’ll find them hideous and hide them away until one of their granddaughters drags it out and asks what it is!! :o) Girls are fantastic creatures!

  2. I’m trying to picture a quilt with holes large enough for an adult to pass through, and how it could still even be a quilt at that point — great image!

    • quiltingcomfort

      I should dig it out and take a picture of it. One of those things you love to death. I had it from elementary school through to…um, well, it’s traveled with me to several countries as an adult. It’s earned it’s holes!! Amazingly, when I put it away it was still warm when folded properly as to hide the holes! ha ha ha Oh the things we keep!

  3. The colors together really aren’t as hideous when you’re standing… really… really… far… away! And you squint!

    I only kid. You did a fantastic job, as usual.

  4. Maude Barnes was my dad’s dad’s second wife. Although we didn’t see her a lot, she was a fun grandma and she must have been a real pistol when she was young; we have photos of her goofing around with her sisters, in the 1920’s. At one point in her life she played honky-tonk piano in a bar! Grandpa’s divorce was bitter and to mollify Grandma Grace we always called his new wife “Aunt Maude”, but somewhere along the line I remember calling her “Grandma Maude” and she was as pleased as a cat with two tails. After that she was always “Grandma” to us. She collected the fabrics for the orphanage quilts everywhere and just banged those things out nonstop. The one Heather loved to death would have ceased to exist but for the thread holding the quilt pieces together! So…long comment…enough said!

Leave a Reply

