“The Family Crest” or “I’m Crazy”

Like the Rocky and Bullwinkle show.  Each show had two titles.  So does this blog.  I’ve taken a total of, oh, one hand applique class.  The results of which can be found on this blog.  They are the three quilts with four hearts on each.  Kind of a pinwheel type of quilt.  At any rate, there you go.

Last February from dear old Grandpa got married to our lovely Pat.  (She really is lovely!)  At any rate, this summer she called me and asked if I could make a wall hanging for them.  “Sure!” I replied.  I got the picture.  There’s a plate with the Barnes family crest on it.  She had scanned it in and sent it to me via Facebook.

It took me a few months to work out how I was going to get it to fit on a piece of fabric 30″ x 30″.  My concern was this:  the picture was poor as the picture was on a plate and the plate didn’t lay flat on the scanner.  All the lines were fuzzy at best.  Blowing it up wouldn’t have done the picture justice.

I whipped out a piece of tracing paper then pretty much guessed where the lines were to be drawn.  Then took my little drawing to Staples where they spent a grueling half hour blowing it up.  Then I traced it again onto wax paper.  This is what I’ve got so far…

Barnes Familly Crest ~ Step 1

I will then do a rough cut and put it onto my white background and hand applique it down.  Then I’ll add the purple parts…

Barnes Family Crest ~ Purple Parts

Then the gold, which I do not have ready for pictures yet, will go down.  There will be some parts that I will have to embroider (really??  I haven’t embroidered since I was a child!) some lines and such.

See…where my second title comes in?  It will, though, be stunning when it’s done.  That is, stunning if I don’t screw it up…here’s to hoping!

Leave a Reply

